Posted by: Kirstie - bonhomieDESIGN | August 17, 2007

I Am…Lesson 2 – Beautiful to God


“It was at this time that Moses was born; and he was lovely in the sight of God, and he was nurtured three months in his father’s home.” Acts 7:20 NASB

 

“He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him, nothing in his appearance that we should desire him. He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows and familiar with suffering. Like one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not.” Isaiah 53:2-3 NIV

“For the Lord takes pleasure in His people; He will beautify the afflicted ones with salvation.” Psalm 149:4

What is your initial response when anyone suggests you are beautiful? I have a tendency to disregard comments like that, especially from my husband. I think “he loves me so of course he thinks I’m beautiful….it doesn’t mean I really am.”

Do you find you engage in a lot of negative ‘self-talk’? How much of your thought life does this form of thinking consume? I’ve always been very insecure – about my looks, my choices in life and my stages in life. It happens most often when I’m around other women.

Has it ever occurred to you that you are a City Girl? How do you plan to use this knowledge? That thought had never occurred to me.  It’s going to take daily review of this lesson and prayer to change my thinking.

In what ways has your view of Godly beauty changed as a result of these Scriptures? Oddly enough, I’ve a friend I’ve always envied…..she’s so beautiful inside and out and so strong in her faith. She has a wonderful marriage and beautiful children. Not too long ago I realized that her beauty comes from her faith, that its God that I see and envy in her. Yes, I know envy is unhealthy (and possibly sinful??) but I have always wanted to be like her. After returning to my faith, I had hopes that allowing others to see my faith and praying that He is reflecting in my thoughts, words and actions would result in others seeing the same beauty in me. Now I’m wondering if my motives are pure…..

hmmm…..time for more prayer!

Responses

  1. Thank you Kirstie for adding me to the prayer list. And I feel for Megan and hope and pray that they can retrieve those precious memories!

  2. I can very much relate to your last response…Anytime we want to exhibit godliness, somehow satan will twist that thing into a motive or pride issue…oh i despise him so!

    you are on the right track in working this one through…many of the most beautiful girls i know would never be attractive in the world’s eyes but yet I find myself wanting to be exactly like them.

    So glad you are doing this study with us! :))

    Lisa

  3. I’m with you–I can feel the same insecurities around women I know–that I’m not as good as (in whatever area that comes to mind). Christ has really done a work on me in the last 15 years to let me know that He made me like I am for a reason and a purpose and that no matter what that I am beautifully and wonderfully made. Christ is already shining through you beautifully!


Leave a Reply

Categories

