Posted by: Kirstie - bonhomieDESIGN | August 21, 2007

Long time, no post….

I do apologize. Since becoming a SAHM, I’m quite unaccustomed to having a full, busy week so something had to give. So exactly what was so important that I hadn’t the time to post? It’s a bit of a long story but I’ll tell ya……

It started some months ago with a trip to my hairdresser who also happens to be an ordained minister and married to the pastor of a local church. She’s been there through the drama-that-was-formerly-my-life stories, has listened to me go on and on about finding a new church, etc. She has never pushed, reprimanded or attempted to steer me in any direction. She just listened and provided knowledge. Long story a little shorter…..she decided to finally have a hair show after 7 years in business and asked me to model. “Model?? Me?!?!” was my response. Yes, I have a history of fashion shows and pageantry but that was many years and one baby ago. I asked her if she had a coordinator, publicist or all ’round “go to” girl to help her out. When she said no, I thought this would be an opportunity to get my business name out there (event planning is an offered service) and do something nice in the process so I volunteered. I have a picture in my mind of God laughing, saying “Nice?? You have no idea!!”.

I should tell you that India’s (my hairdresser) idea for the theme was “Looking Good for the Lord.” During the process of planning & rehearsing India became my spiritual mentor and my friend. It was during this process that I returned to church, began studying His word and my husband drew closer to the Lord. The show was this past weekend and it was a success. Midway through the planning, it was laid upon India’s heart to donate not just a portion but the whole of the proceeds to Feed The Children’s Abandoned Baby Center in Kenya. The show raised over $1000, praise Jesus. This event was a pleasure to put together, from beginning to end. I’ve coordinated many an event in my time and never has one gone so smoothly.

During the show, while waiting in the wings for the next cue, India began to thank someone not on the program. I realized she was talking about me and the words she spoke were honor and thanks above and beyond what was ever expected. She called me to the stage and I ended up thanking her because as I said earlier, I believe that her event was a catalyst to my life change and growth. Then she gave me A CHECK in an amount that was so generous!!! Should I remind you that I volunteered?? She is such a blessing in my life and I thank God for her.

One evening while contemplating this event, the thought came to me that this show is just the beginning for what God has planned for me. I didn’t really understand because this was not supposed to be the focus of my business but (not to toot my own horn) I am good behind the scenes. A few days later, I asked her for a quote relating to her salon for the press release and guess what she said? You guessed it…….this is only the beginning. What began as an attempt to do for someone else turned into a blessing for me. God just amazes me.

 

Which leads me to an area of my life in need of prayer. You all know I’m a SAHM but I work from home. My business has only one client at this time and she happens to be my former employer. The only reason I’m able to stay home with munchkin is because we live in the ‘family home’ of my husband. Owned by my husband’s uncle and occupied by me, my husband, munchkin (of course) and my father-in-law. It’s not an ideal situation but I’ve finally realized it for the blessing it is (long story for another day). My husband’s pay gets us by but we really do need a second income. I became a bit discouraged that I haven’t received more interest in my business or services. Now I’m wondering if that’s even what I’m supposed to be doing. I’ve been praying that God will direct my business life and help me to follow direction.

Looking back, there was a period of time not too long ago that I was very ill. If I had retained some clients, either I would have lost them or endangered my health even more. And my munchkin is changing so much and so quickly……would I have noticed if I had all the clients I was wishing for? I certainly wouldn’t have had the time to volunteer to coordinate the hair show and I’m guessing I wouldn’t have given my relationship with God as much attention if any at all.

In addition to the hair show, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to write as the Tech Mama for Mommy’s Company, an online publication and podcast. No $$ in that either but there is some advertising and I have such a blast writing the articles that I don’t mind. My point is, neither of these opportunities are what I’d imagined I’d be doing nor are they what I planned for my business but I enjoyed both and I’m excited to see what God has in store for me. My devotionals have been focusing on purpose, service to the Lord and gifts. I’ve just officially joined the Praise Team & choir at church – I’ve always felt called to a music ministry – but those feel like a “given.” Not that I’m not joyful in my participation because I am!! I’ve really missed the music ministry. I’d just never considered the fact that God will also guide my professional path as well. So I’ll ask all of you to pray that I’m attentive enough to hear God’s instruction, that I’m strong and devout enough to follow His instruction and that I stay close enough to Him to carry out His chosen role for me and give Him glory.

 

So, that’s what I’ve been up to!

Responses

  1. I WILL be praying for you. It can be tough to be in a situation where you don’t know for sure what God will do with you next. When I first started my business, I was doing one thing and then two years later, God led my business down a different path. I just knew there was something else I was supposed to be doing and I just kept praying about it and He did show me which direction to go. I can say with all confidence that He will do the same for you! Congrats on the very successful show!

  2. That is all very exciting! I imagine you must feel you are on the cusp of something… the brink… and feeling elated on the one hand and perhaps a bit intimidated on the other. How better to face the future than with God right there beside or in front of you?! I will pray, and I hope you will be able to see more guidance from Him daily, and hence move forward onto your new path with a sense of peace and purpose. Hugs –

  3. Looks to me like He is opening some doors for you! I will be praying as you seek His will for you. And even though you weren’t paid for these opportunities the advertising is worth SO much more!

    My husband writes articles for car magazines and when they hit the stands our sales go up.

    Do all to the glory of God!

    P.S. I tagged you for a meme, but I see that you are one busy lady. If you get bored you can do it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

