Posted by: Kirstie - bonhomieDESIGN | August 25, 2007

I Am…Lesson 3 – When Life Doesn’t Work Out Like You Planned (Part 1)

“One day, after Moses had grown up, he went out to where his own people were and watched them at their hard labor. He saw an Egyptian beating a Hebrew, one of his own people. Glancing this way and that and seeing no one, he killed the Egyptian and hid him in the sand.” Exodus 2″11-12

But when he was approaching the age of forty, it entered his mind to visit his brethren, the sons of Israel.” Acts 7:23

  1. It was stated in the Lesson that God has made you “once, twice, three times a lady.” Where are you in this progression? Obviously we have all been physically born but are you ‘twice a lady’? Have you been born again spiritually? I thought I had been ‘born again’ when I was younger and perhaps I had but I didn’t stay on the path of the Lord. I know now that without a doubt I am ‘twice a lady’.
  2. Are you three times a lady? Has God given you a stirring deep within your Spirit to be a ‘deliverer’? Do you have a desire or are you already meeting a need in the life of the church, a particular ministry (such as jail ministry, food ministry, etc.) or perhaps individuals who share common issues? I’m currently reading “A Purpose Driven Life” and I’m into the chapters dealing with spiritual gifts. I honestly admit that I still haven’t given much prayerful attention the role God wishes me to take in the church. Again, I’m making the assumption that it will have something to do with music because I love to sing and others have told me I have a talent for it so I’ve gone on ahead and joined the Choir & Praise Team. Notice all those “I”s in there?? I know. How can I hear God’s voice or feel his Spirit if I’m running around deciding things on my own? I know it’s possible to be surprised by God’s calling – in my professional life, I feel that He may be leading me in a direction I’d never once considered. Perhaps I’m afraid I’ll find out that He doesn’t want me to sing. Though what is there to fear when it is of God. Prayer time!!
  3. Do you ever get tired of waiting for that opportunity to do something worthwhile for God? Do you ever feel God is using someone else instead of you? I’ve not yet tired of waiting for an opportunity. I know that I’ve missed several opportunities to do good for God while I was ‘wandering’ and I’ve been renewed in Him for such a short time. I have, however, felt a bit of envy when I’ve seen God using others instead of me. That goes back to my envy of others in whom I saw – and see – God. I’m working up to my turn but honestly, I don’t feel worthy. Maybe soon but not now.
  4. What do you consider ‘worthwhile ministry’? Are you like me and sometimes find yourself mistakenly thinking it has to be Big to be Important? I’d never given much thought to what makes a ‘worthwhile’ ministry and fortunately I’ve learned before incurring that myth that anything done for the glory of the Lord and in His name is a worthwhile ministry. My misconceptions instead lay in the definition of ministry. Pastor (Minister, Reverend, etc.), Missionary & Sunday School Teacher were the only roles I defined as a ministry. Now I now better 🙂
  5. Have you ever taken a spiritual gifts test? If yes, what are yours? If no, here’s a good one from Ephesians 4 Ministry. Well, for any of you who’ve read “A Purpose Driven Life” (which I assume would include 80% of the population) you might recall that the author didn’t necessarily advocate spiritual gifts tests but that doesn’t much matter to me. I’ve always made my own decisions based on my own research and now I’m learning to make God the source of that research! Anyway, I did take the test and you can read my results here. My “number one dominant gift” was Administration. The second was Pastor/Shepard. Not much of a surprise on the first one, especially if you consider what I currently do for a living. The second is a bit of a surprise only because, as I made mention to earlier, I don’t feel that I am yet in any position in my spiritual growth to lead anyone anywhere. I’m still a baby in that respect. However, it’s usual for me to take a leadership role elsewhere, mainly because I don’t have much patience to wait for others to do and they may not do it my way so might as well do it myself 😉 The analysis was right on in that respect but I don’t know how much stock I’d put in any type of multiple choice analysis. It’s not difficult to skew the results – intentionally or otherwise. If someone tells you something about yourself often enough, chances are you’ll come to believe it – unless of course they’re telling you your beautiful but that would be back in Lesson 2 😉 Anyway, though I don’t disbelieve the analysis I’m learning to let God take the lead – that way I don’t have to second guess the decision.
Responses

  1. “My misconceptions instead lay in the definition of ministry. Pastor (Minister, Reverend, etc.), Missionary & Sunday School Teacher were the only roles I defined as a ministry. ”

    I don’t think you are the only one who thinks this! One of the hardest things for my husband the pastor to teach our congregation is that every Christian is a minister….

    I’m so glad you are participating in this study and for your thoughtful responses~ 🙂

    Lisa

  2. You have a heart that is open to hear from God so you will know what God puts on your heart to do in ministry. If God has gifted you musically, use it! I suppose I always knew what my talents were, but I didn’t find out my spiritual gifts until my late 20’s. It has been very freeing to know the areas that God has gifted me in (and to know the areas that He has NOT gifted me in). I no longer waste time trying to do things that He has not called me to do! It has also been very interesting to see that my husband has certain spiritual gifts and then I have completely different ones–but together we make a pretty good team! God’s good like that!

  3. See? I TOLD you they looked alike. Blonde curls and all! 😉

  4. Thank you for being so open and honest.

  5. Just checking in to see if you’re doing okay. Missing your posts, but know that life gets very busy! Hope you’re alright!

  6. Miss the blog 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

